MacOS 10.14 and later FAQ

In the newer macOS, beginning with 10.14 Mojave, Apple has made some privacy and security changes and as a result has affected the way Backblaze behaves. If running macOS 10.14 or later you will need to follow these steps to reenable Backblaze to back up your:
Photos, Contacts, Calendars, Safari, Mail, or other Apple items.

***First, Update To The Latest Version (5.4 or higher) of the Backblaze Client here.***

(please note: permissions will often automatically be requested during installation)

 

Giving Backblaze Full Disk Access After the new OS is on the Computer

1. After updating to the latest client, open the Applications Folder. 

Applications_Folder.png

2. Open the System Preferences on your Mac by clicking the apple icon in the upper-left corner and select System preferences.  

3. Click Security & Privacy settings.

4. Select "Full Disk Access" in the left-hand column.

Screen_Shot_2018-10-15_at_2.09.23_PM.png
5. If necessary, click the lock and enter your Mac's username and password to allow you to make changes.

6. Drag the Backblaze app into the Full Disk Access location and release the Backblaze icon into it as show in the images below. 

BzApp_Permissions.gif

7. Restart your Mac. After reboot, once Backblaze does a hard drive scan it should back up everything that the OS upgrade excluded and your backup should remain safe! 

 

**Note: If you are still having issues with the Mac Menu Bar Backblaze icon please click here for instructions.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk