Inherit Backup State for Backblaze for Business

The Inherit Backup State feature allows a new installation of Backblaze to inherit an existing license and backup under the same account. This will prevent the unnecessary re-upload of files that have already been backed up. This is useful in a number of circumstances, like the following examples:

  • The Backblaze software was uninstalled and reinstalled on the same computer and no data has been lost. 

  • The Backblaze software was installed on a new computer and the data on the new computer already matches that of the previously licensed computer's backup. 

  • The Backblaze backup was Safety Frozen. 

If there is any data in the original, licensed backup that has not yet been restored onto your new computer's hard drive(s), do not initiate a Inherit Backup State. 

Note: Backups cannot be inherited cross platform. A Windows backup can only be inherited by a Windows computer, and a Mac backup only by a Mac. 

Mac Only: If Migration Assistant or a Time Machine backup was used to inherit the data from the old computer to the new, the Backblaze software will need to be uninstalled and reinstalled before proceeding. 

To start the Inherit Backup State process, a trial of Backblaze must first be installed on the computer. To do so: 

  1. Visit https://secure.backblaze.com/user_signin.htm and sign in to your Backblaze account with your email address and password.

  2. On the "Overview" page, select the appropriate download link for your operating computer at the lower right corner.

  3. Run the installer you downloaded to setup a new backup. 

Once an active backup has been installed, the Inherit Backup State process can be initiated:

  1. Reboot your computer to make sure all Backblaze files are unlocked.

  2. Once the computer reboots, choose "Inherit Backup State" from the Backblaze menu bar icon (Mac) or taskbar icon (Windows).      

  1. Provide your email address and password for your Backblaze account and choose "Sign In".

  2. In the list, choose the previous backup to inherit.

After the Inherit Backup State, Backblaze will queue up the entire contents of all drives selected for backup. As each file comes up in the queue, it's checksummed to create a digital fingerprint. That fingerprint is compared to the files that are already on our servers.

If the file exists on our servers, only a summary will be transmitted - things like a new name, location, or new date could be transmitted.

If the file doesn't exist on our servers, then the whole file will be transmitted. For large files, they're segmented first, then each segment is checked under the same process.

If a file is in the inherited backup, but not on the new computer, it will be purged from the backup, just as with files that have been deleted or removed for more than 30 days. 

The end result is that already backed up data will not be transmitted again, but any new/changed data will be, and your backup will be accurate with as little time and bandwidth used as possible.


Once you have finished performing a Inherit Backup State, you must delete the “old_inactive (divorced)" backup. To do so:

  1. Log into your Backblaze for Business Account using your licensed email and password.

      2. Click on the "Preferences" link on the left hand side navigation.

   3. Locate the unwanted backup from the list of computers. The term “old_inactive (divorced)" will be included in the name of the backup you need to remove.

   4. Click the "Delete Computer" link to the right of the computer name.

 







Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk